A pancake kinda morning

Today when she finally woke up, Miss A asked for pancakes.  I tried to convince her that something else would be just as yummy, and she agreed with me: ‘Yes Mommy, toast with Queenies jam tastes good.  We can have some after we make pancakes.  I’ll get the ‘gredients.’  How could I argue with that?  And so, this morning, we made pancakes.  Miss A insisted on wearing her chef’s hat and apron and tried to convince me that she could pour the milk all by herself (one day, baby); Miss K wasn’t happy until she was sitting on a ‘big person’ chair and banging measuring cups.  We chatted while we measured and sang along to familiar songs on the radio while we mixed.  The bad mood I woke up in began to dissipate.  And I thought, how precious these moments are.  And then I thought, I wish I could work part time forever.

I love these days at home with my girls.  They are like secret treasures that we share, adventures that we travel together.  Some days it feels as if time has stopped and, just for a few moments, we are the only ones aware in the entire universe as we dance ourselves silly in the kitchen, create a three-person band out of pots and pans and wooden spoons, or chase each other around the house pretending to be crocodiles.  They have so much fun; I study the way their little noses scrunch up when they laugh, the feel of their arms clasped tightly around my neck, the sound of their voices when they say my name.  Already they have changed and grown so much; so much already lost in time.  And so I work hard to commit it all to memory so that when I look back I can remember just how these days felt, when nothing was more important than making pancakes with my girls.

Our Favourite Pancake Recipe
(adapted from Chatelaine’s Best Buttermilk Pancakes)

1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
2 cups buttermilk (or 2 cups milk + 2 tbsp lime juice)
2 cups flour
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla

Heat griddle.  Melt the butter and let cool.  Mix milk and lime juice and let sit for 5 min.  Combine dry ingredients with a whisk.  In a separate bowl, mix melted butter and buttermilk.  Beat in eggs and vanilla.  Add to dry ingredients and stir until just combined (batter should be lumpy).  Pour onto greased griddle and cook until both sides are golden.  These taste great with bananas, blueberries, strawberries and whipped cream (my favourite), or just by themselves.  We save the extras and toast them for breakfast the next morning.

Enjoy!

One thought on “A pancake kinda morning

Add yours

  1. Oh how I miss thoses days! Just reading this brought tears to my eyes. I sooo wish I could work part time forever…or at least until my monkeys are old enough to make thier own pankcakes for breakfast 🙂 Miss you.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

