Dear Self

Sadly, summer is (rather too quickly) coming to an end.  In order not to feel too overwhelmed by my return to full-time teaching, I have been desperately trying to cram as much planning and preparation into these last few weeks as is humanly possible while still enjoying my beautiful girls and this gorgeous weather (which I’m sure will become ridiculously hot the minute the bell rings in my un-air conditioned new school).

Anyway, one of the first tasks I plan on giving my students is to write a letter to themselves about what they hope to accomplish this year (after bringing them on a field trip to… the stairwell.  It seemed like a good idea at the time.  I mean, what better place to talk about reaching your goals one step at a time?  Right?  Plus, it’s free).  So, in the spirit of good teaching and modelling, I decided to create my own as an example.  Here is what I came up with:

P.S.  You can find more about the disruptive student satisfaction ratio on Dan Meyer’s blog.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

